Read The Manticore by Robertson Davies Free Online

Ebook The Manticore by Robertson Davies read! Book Title: The Manticore
The author of the book: Robertson Davies
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 1.90 MB
Edition: Penguin (Canada)
Date of issue: June 9th 2005
ISBN: 0143051393
ISBN 13: 9780143051398

Read full description of the books The Manticore:

If the first volume of this trilogy had me dreaming about saints (view spoiler)[ (hide spoiler)], I could expect fantasy to continue in this second volume. This time it appeared in the guise of psychoanalysis. Thank god, (or thanks the saints?) it was not Freudian rant, since I have very little patience with that; the Jungian mode is the one developed instead.

Much more creative.

And artistic.

The world of conjurors and miracles and tricks of the hat has given way to the universe of Jungian Archetypes. This made the novel suffer somewhat, however. Robertson no longer seemed the magician with his words, but instead an apprentice trying to emulate, explain, elucidate, apply, explore, a set of theories that are not his. I felt as if he had donned someone else’s habit.

Often in my reading of this dramatization of the Archetypes, I kept thinking of one of the rooms in the 2013 Venice Biennale, where they showed Carl Jung’s extraordinary The Red Book: Liber Novus.

The artistic dimension of this bright cosmology added hues to my reading of the Manticore, the Persian beast.

As I continue to the third volume I expect Robertson’s own magic will occupy center stage again… The ending of this novel with the exotic title, indicated that this could very well be the case as he seemed to be turning his back to Jungian lore.

Although the Red Book will still haunt me.

Read Ebooks by Robertson Davies

Read information about the author

Ebook The Manticore read Online! William Robertson Davies, CC, FRSC, FRSL (died in Orangeville, Ontario) was a Canadian novelist, playwright, critic, journalist, and professor. He was one of Canada's best-known and most popular authors, and one of its most distinguished "men of letters", a term Davies is sometimes said to have detested. Davies was the founding Master of Massey College, a graduate college at the University of Toronto.


The Salterton Trilogy
• Tempest-tost (1951)
• Leaven of Malice (1954)
• A Mixture of Frailties (1958)
The Deptford Trilogy
• Fifth Business (1970)
• The Manticore (1972)
• World of Wonders (1975)
The Cornish Trilogy
• The Rebel Angels (1981)
• What's Bred in the Bone (1985)
• The Lyre of Orpheus (1988)
The Toronto Trilogy (Davies' final, incomplete, trilogy)
• Murther and Walking Spirits (1991)
• The Cunning Man (1994)

Ebooks PDF Epub

Add a comment to The Manticore

Read EBOOK The Manticore by Robertson Davies Online free

Download PDF: the-manticore.pdf The Manticore PDF